ObamaCare: what happened on the way to the marketplace…

This morning I finally bit the bullet and called.  1-800-318-2596.  Healthcare.gov.

Yes, I did. I called. Though my insurance agent of many years will call on me, fill out my application, help with the subsidies–I wanted to do it myself.  Wanted to plan my budget for the next year, I told myself.  After at least eight attempts since 10/1/13 to create an account online I began to ask myself… Why?

As one of the fortunate few in this country who has private pay insurance with a subsidy from my employer, why would I want to create an account, log in and fiddle with the numbers?  Because like many, especially those with health issues, money is tight and I’m hoping for a decrease in premium.  But was that really the reason?

I’m a democrat and a former social worker, so I know how great the need is, and regardless of what is said by either party, I also know that there will be upfront costs, then lower costs as we move forward to insure everyone and address unmet healthcare needs. I support the concept of the Affordable Care Act. I also know that the insurance companies have and will control costs, not our government or political parties or physicians.  That’s unfortunate.

As a self-appointed advocate of and for ‘the people’, I wanted to see what the site was like, how to create an account and how to apply so that I can help others. Plus, I admit I’m a bit of an info freak though those of us in NC have little choice.  The Marketplace website is our only option as we’re one of 19 states that chose to do nothing, absolutely nothing, including expanding Medicaid.

After creating an account, not having the account recognized, being repeatedly admonished to either log in, create an account or call the 1-800 number, on the 26th day I gave up  and phoned.  The lovely and helpful Sheila in St. Louis answered.  She was unable to assist  with my log in.  Only the tech department has access to the log in accounts and they’re doing, well, errrr… techie things: sending them memos re: how to talk nicely to upset people, how to explain things, when this will work, etc.  At present no one has access to user names and passwords due to HIPAA.  Funny that.  Apple, Microsoft, AT&T, my bank, doctor…every other company has access to user names, passwords and security questions, or simply the email address on the account. The Healthcare Customer Service Rep can’t even verify whether an account exists. Only someone in the Tech Dept  can assist with the proper security clearance, but not for healthcare, and not with accounts at the present time. Arrrrrrgh!

ARGGGGGH re insuranceNext I was assisted with completing an online application that had very little to do with my health (only two questions) and very much to do with my state of employment, investments, family size, medical bills, and income sources. Lots of income questions.  

I was told that Experian would ‘vet’ all account holders, and then we could receive assistance with lost account info or log in glitches.  Sigh… I wonder if Tech and Credit will know how to talk with each other?  Then will they talk with HealthCare Customer Service?We’re far beyond the question of whether ACA/ObamaCare is here.  It is. The question now, is how do we implement it?  My agent excitedly said it is going to be a burden on private insurers as they work to educate, research and renew every current client as well as new clients between now and mid-December.  They’ll also have to enter each application into the database… even they aren’t exempt from that.  Mine is there. Maybe that’s a help, maybe it was already there. Maybe I’m in there for each of the eight times I tried to create an account and log in.

The fact that I don’t have an active account, but do have an application is a bit confusing as I’m not able to log in, check plans (though only BCBS-NC  chose to participate in my region), review subsidies, etc.  Sheila assured me that once my application is reviewed,  in 24 hours or less, I will receive email confirmation, then  a series of emails with more information, more links, etc. will follow. 

Dang it!  I really wanted an account! my own account! But at least my application is in.

I know that in time, the tech issues will be resolved.  The site will begin to work properly. More folks will receive the medical and health care they and their children need.  I’m not so sure about our elected officials.  Will they resolve their differences?  Begin to work together properly? Help their constitutents with what they, ‘the people’ need?  Or will they choose, like NC and 18 other states, not to participate, or like seven states who said, the feds made us do it, but we’ll manage the plans, or the one state that’s running the small business plans and letting the feds manage the individual,  or the seven states who have established a state-federal partnership with the state offering consumer assistance, or the 16 states, plus D.C. who have fully implemented state plans.  More here   Sigh….

If you choose to call, and I hope you will, ask for Sheila.  1-800-318-2596.  Healthcare.gov.
She was lovely, patient, listened to my rants, took my application, then told me to get off the computer, go outside and enjoy this lovely fall day.   

I’m going to.   Hope you will, as well.

2013-10-16 13.43.08

To your health!

Susan

About Sussi

Living on the edge of all good things...food, health, art, yoga, friends, wisdom and joy.
This entry was posted in Health and Chronic Wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ObamaCare: what happened on the way to the marketplace…

  1. Sussi says:

    Thank you, Jo Tilghman for your post on LInkedIn http://www.linkedin.com/nhome/updates?topic=5799901154011787264
    “You put into words what I am experiencing and its driving me to dispair! Great blog! BTW:
    53m ago

  2. loved this. you go sista. 

    ________________________________

  3. Sussi, you have found most of the answer, with the array of questions you mentioned. The ACA is not about healthcare, it is about political control, and is certainly not a new idea – Democrats have been pushing this for 100 years, since the Wilson administration. The president’s claim to fame, for him, is that he is the one who got it done. Wilson couldn’t do it, FDR couldn’t do it, LBJ couldn’t do it, Clinton couldn’t do it, but he got it done. That, to him, is the victory, not better healthcare. He knows very little about it, and with the administration he has assembled, has almost no idea what it will take to get it done. This thing will, I am afraid, swim in its own confusion and massive cost until it collapses of its own weight. You are far more optimistic than I. Hugs.

    • Sussi says:

      LOL… yes, I am optimistic, in general. And it will either work or not. Consider the War on Poverty. Many of us felt that by providing the basics of food, safety, housing and education, it would make opportunity available to those who had little to no chance of breaking out of the cycle of poverty and making a contribution to society. Somewhere along the way… we forgot the most important thing… that these are people with their own ideas and needs. The more we regulated everything… including tying money to family structure and size… we really got lost.. There is a vast difference in meeting basic needs and legislating lifestyle. It worked, to some degree, but also created a new subculture, a real culture of poverty that will take generations to change. I don’t know the answer, but we’re not asking the right questions or listening to the people. God bless us every one!

      Clifton, I really appreciate your comments and valuable knowledge of history!

      Thanks so much,
      Susan

  4. Saunders jones jr MD says:

    I’m afraid you’re a lot more optimistic than I am. Best of luck.

    • Sussi says:

      We’ll see. I hope it will work. You have a different perspective as a Doctor/surgeon, I’m sure.
      Thanks for reading, Saunders. I value your thoughts and insight.

Leave a comment